Detangling 4c hair after braids

My hair after I took out my braids

Detangling is probably the most tedious process of a wash day and it is even more worse detangling after braids. Braids are great but the hair is put under so much pressure after braids that the hair may be brittle, dry which all these things can lead to breakage.

As a person who does braids on a regular,I have tried different techniques and I think I have found the best way to detangle my hair after braids and I’m sure it will be helpful for you too.

1. Unbraid on damp hair
Because your hair has been sitting in braids for so long, trust me, it is probably at its driest and in need of some H2O. Take you spray bottle and sprit warm water on your braids. One, it will make the unbraiding process easier and two, it will cause less breakage when your unbraiding. You know when you are busy taking out a braids and hair comes out with it, yes we don’t want that and having damp hair will help with that.



2. Tresemme pre-wash detangling butter
So I am currently busy trying out new products on my hair (reviews coming soon) and I could not wait to tell you all about the pre-wash detangling butter from Tresemme. This butter has been named well because it will actually make your hair feel like butter. The hair feels so smooth and it makes the hair feel like it hasn’t been sitting in braids for the last three months. You can also add an oil with it but honestly, you don’t need to.

Tresemme pre-wash detangling butter



3. Finger detangling
Never again am I making the mistake of taking a detangling brush or Wide tooth comb to detangle before doing finger detangling first. Finger detangling helps to get rid of the big knots first and even the really small ones that can cause our hair to break. Also, I think the benefit of finger detangling is that it helps get the product into the hair. It’s also good for the scalp to relax and get a massage after a long time.

4. Detangle with wide tooth comb or detangling brush
This is the point where now you pick up your detangling brush or Wide tooth comb, and you get through the knots that you miss with your fingers. And as I’m sure we all know, you detangle from the bottom up, meaning, you start at your ends and work your way up to the roots of your hair. At this point, because you detangled with you fingers first, this process will go a lot quicker.



5. Bonus point: Less breakage
I promise you, this is the best way to detangle your hair after braids and if you don’t believe me, try it. By using this method, I experienced the least breakage and shedding I have ever had after braids and my hair felt strong and healthy. I retained all my new growth which is a huge plus. I definitely think the detangling butter played a huge role but also using this method made me detangle my hair quicker and easier. Try it out and let me know if it worked for you or what you would do differently.

3 months worth of shedding (yes I know😁)



Detangling type 4 hair is not easy and probably the reason why most people are scared to go natural but you don’t have to be. Just have fun with it and you’ll see the benefit of going natural.

I would love to hear from you so be sure to leave a comment and like this post if it was helpful to you.

https://www.instagram.com/tema_swati/

Leave a comment